You are here > > Football > The Mid-American Conference: "The Cradle of Coaches"

MAC Football
MAC Basketball
MAC Message Boards
Related MAC Sites
Nick's Picks 2005
Submit Article
MAC Fatheads
VanDelay's Team

Athletic Dept. Sites
MAC East
MAC West


The Mid-American Conference: "The Cradle of Coaches"

  • Bo Schembechler
  • Woody Hayes
  • Ara Parseghian
  • Urban Meyer

These are a few of the names that can be associated with the Mid-American Conference's "Cradle of Coaches." While dominated by Miami University, the MAC has been home to many great coaches and many others with the potential to be great as well. While former Bowling Green head coach Urban Meyer gets his start at Florida this season along with former Miami head coach Terry Hoeppner at Indiana, the MAC continues to have a large presence across the college football coaching ranks.

Woody Hayes |Ara Parseghian |Bo Schembechler |Randy Walker

Jim Grobe |Urban Meyer |Terry Hoeppner |Other MAC Coaches

Wayne "Woody" Hayes

Miami University, 1949-1950

Woody Hayes, a legend in the state of Ohio, spent two years at Miami and led his team to a 14-5 record before spending the final 28 years of his coaching career at Ohio State. The rivalry between Hayes and Bo Schembechler, another former Miami University Head Coach, is legend in the Midwestern United States. Hayes won 3 National Championships and 13 Big Ten titles while leading Ohio State to 11 Rose Bowls.

1949-1950 @ Miami University - 14-5, .737

Career - 30 years - 219-66-10

Glenn "Bo" Schembechler

Miami University, 1963-1968

For six years Schembechler manned the sidelines at Miami University before moving on to the University of Michigan in 1969 and spending the final 21 years of his coaching career there. During the 21 years that Schembechler coached at Michigan he led the Wolverines to 17 Bowl Games (10 Rose Bowls) and was voted the National Coach of the Year in 1969.

1963-1968 @ Miami University - 40-17-3, .692

Career - 27 years - 234-65-8

Ara Parseghian

Miami University, 1951-1955

After two years with the Cleveland Browns before ending his playing career due to injury, Parseghian became an assistant coach under Woody Hayes at Miami in 1950. In 1951 he became head coach at Miami and remained in Oxford until leaving for Northwestern. Parseghian coached at Northwestern through 1963 before taking the head position ot Notre Dame where he won two consensus national championships. He was voted into the National Football Foundation Hall of Fame in 1980.

1951-1955 @ Miami University - 39-6-1, .859

Career - 24 years - 170-58-6, .739

Jim Grobe

Ohio University, 1995-2000

In the ten years prior to Grobe's arrival at Ohio University the Bobcats won just 17 games going 17-89-4. In every year after 1995 Grobe led the Bobcats to at least 5 wins; not bad for a program that was in such shambles before he arrived. Grobe led Ohio to the Bobcats only two winning seasons since 1982 going 8-3 in 1997 and 7-4 in his final season in 2000 before leaving for Wake Forest.

1995-2000 @ Ohio University - 33-33-1, .500

Career (Active) - 10 years - 55-58-1, .487

Urban Meyer

Bowling Green, 2001-2002

After working as an assistant at Notre Dame for five years, Meyer took over as Head Coach at Bowling Green in 2001. Meyer led BG to an 8-3 record in 2001 and 9-3 record in 2002 before leaving for Utah where he spent two years going 22-2. After the 2004 season Meyer took the Head Coach position at Florida.

2001-2002 @ Bowling Green - 17-6, .739

Career (Active) - 4 years - 39-8, .830

Randy Walker

Miami University, 1990-1998

Randy Walker left Miami University after the 1998 season as the all-time winningest coach in school history with a record 59 wins. Walker left Miami after the 1998 season to take on the head coaching job at Northwestern where he is the 1st coach since 1946 to lead Northwestern to three 6+ win seasons and is the 1st NU coach to record victories over all other Big Ten schools.

1990-1998 @ Miami - 59-35-5, .621

Career - 15 years - 89-76-5, .538

Terry Hoeppner

Miami University, 1999-2004

During his six years as the Miami head coach, Terry Hoeppner led the RedHawks to back-to-back MAC Eastern Division titles and bowl game appearances for the fuirst time in 30 years. Hoeppner left Miami after the 2004 season for Indiana where he follows two former Miami head coaches who also coached at Indiana. Both John Pont and Bill Mallory also spent time coaching at both schools.

1999-2004 @ Miami - 48-25, .658

Career (Active) - 6 years - 49-25, .658


The list of head coaches below all have ties to the Mid-American Conference.





Joe Novak

Northern Illinois

47-55 @ NIU

Miami Alumnus 1967

- has led NIU to 27-9 record since 2002

Ron Zook



Miami Alumnus 1976

- led Florida to 23-14 record and at least 7 wins each of his three seasons at Florida - currently the Head Coach at the University of Illinois

Gary Pinkel



Toledo Coach '91-2000
Kent St. Alumnus 1973

- led Toledo to a 73-37 (.659) record in 10 years as the Rockets Head Coach

Tom Amstutz



Toledo Head Coach
Toledo Alumnus 1977

- has led Toledo to 8 wins or more in all four seasons as Head Coach at the University of Toledo

Glen Mason



Kent Head Coach

- coached Kent State in 1986 and 1987 to a 12-10 record
- coached at Kansas in the Big 12 from 1988-1996
- current coach at University of Minnesota

John Pont



Miami Coach

- Miami coach 1956-1962 compiling 43-22-2 @ MU, also coached at Indiana and Northwestern

Bill Mallory



Miami Coach

- Miami coach 1969-1972 compiling 39-12 record @ MU, also coached at Colorado, Northern Illinois and Indiana

Earl "Red" Blaik


166-48-14, .759

Miami Player

- Blaik played on Miami's undefeated team in 1916 and coached for 25 years at Dartmouth and Army


> Back to MAC Football